Reasons of cutting classes

As someone who has skipped class many times, the reason is almost always that I believe attending class is a waste of time and my time would be better spent reading a textbook on the subject. No matter how good the lecturer is, I tend to doze off or get lost at some point. That doesn’t happen when reading a textbook. In Salman Kahn’s book The One World Schoolhouse: Education Reimagined , he describes a group of MIT undergrads who feel the same way, and call themselves “the class skippers”. So when students are skipping class, it may not be because they are apathetic, but instead because they care very much about learning and utilizing their time effectively. If you are a professor who is worried about students skipping class, you might want to try experimenting with a flipped classroom model. I have no personal experience with this model myself, but it sounds interesting.

Leave a comment